Video Game Rules

All tournaments must follow the current Standard ruleset to be sanctioned by Play! Pokémon.

Listed below is a summary of the current Standard ruleset for the VGC 2015 season. For the full rules please read the following document: 2015 Play! Pokémon VG Rules and Formats EN.


Rules Summary

1. Game Versions

  • Only Pokémon Omega Ruby and Pokémon Alpha Sapphire Game Cards or downloadable versions are permitted for use.
  • Players may only used European Game Cards on European systems.


2. Standard Team Construction Rules

When building a team for a Play! Pokémon tournament, all players must adhere to these standard construction rules.

  • A player’s team cannot contain two Pokémon with the same Pokédex number.
  • Each Pokémon on a player’s team can hold an item, though no two Pokémon may hold the same item.
  • A player’s team cannot contain two Pokémon with the same nickname.
  • A player’s team cannot contain a Pokémon nicknamed with the name of another Pokémon (for example, an Unfezant named “Pidove”).
  • Pokémon may only use moves that have been learned through one of the following methods:
    o By leveling up
    o By TM or HM
    o As an Egg Move, through breeding
    o From a character in the game
    o A move already known by a Pokémon received at an official Pokémon event or promotion


3. Standard Format

The Standard format is the normal tournament format for Play! Pokémon Premier video game events. This format will be used at all Premier events unless specified otherwise.

  • The Standard format for all Play! Pokémon Premier tournaments is Double Battle. In Double Battles, each player selects four Pokémon from his or her party of six to battle with. At the start of the battle, players send out the first two Pokémon in their party, making a total of four Pokémon on the battlefield. Gameplay continues until a player makes all four of his or her opponent’s Pokémon faint.
  • Players may use Pokémon from the National Pokédex, from No. 001–719, that are caught in the game, transferred from a previous Pokémon title, or received at an official event or distribution
  • The following Pokémon may not be on a player’s team:
    o 150 – Mewtwo
    o 151 – Mew
    o 249 – Lugia
    o 250 – Ho-Oh
    o 251 – Celebi
    o 382 – Kyogre
    o 383 – Groudon
    o 384 – Rayquaza
    o 385 – Jirachi
    o 386 – Deoxys
    o 483 – Dialga
    o 484 – Palkia
    o 487 – Giratina
    o 489 – Phione
    o 490 – Manaphy
    o 491 – Darkrai
    o 492 – Shaymin
    o 493 – Arceus
    o 494 – Victini
    o 643 – Reshiram
    o 644 – Zekrom
    o 646 – Kyurem
    o 647 – Keldeo
    o 648 – Meloetta
    o 649 – Genesect
    o 716 – Xerneas
    o 717 – Yveltal
    o 718 – Zygarde
    o 719 – Diancie
  • Pokémon must be placed in the Battle Box.
  • Pokémon are allowed to Mega Evolve.
  • Pokémon may not hold the item Soul Dew.
  • Pokémon above Level 50 are permitted, but they are auto-leveled down to 50 for the duration of battle.
  • Players may use Pokémon with Hidden Abilities.
  • Players may use items that have been officially released via Pokémon X, Pokémon Y, Pokémon Omega Ruby, Pokémon Alpha Sapphire, the Pokémon Global Link, or an official event or promotion.
  • Pokémon used in the Standard format must have a blue pentagon in the Pokémon summary screen. This indicates that the Pokémon was caught during regular gameplay, hatched from an Egg, obtained within the game, or was officially gifted in either Pokémon X, Pokémon Y, Pokémon Omega Ruby, or Pokémon Alpha Sapphire.